In the past Steffen Leesch was pilot and captain on German Navy „Sea King“ Search and Rescue helicopters and thus gathered lots of experience in national flight operations. Several tours abroad also gave him a sound understanding of international and offshore flight scenarios.

With his engineering background he soon developed an interest in helicopter deployment in offshore wind farms and specialized in this field. The understanding of technical aspects necessary for his consulting work is based on his engineering studies at Helmut-Schmidt University of the Federal Armed Forces in Hamburg.

Steffen Leesch has been flying for various offshore projects in order to actively participate in the organizational and aeronautical processes of offshore flight operations.

Licenses and Qualifications:

  • Airline Transport Pilot License ATPL (H)
  • Instrument Rating IR (H)
  • Quality Management Representative (QMR)
  • Crew Resource Management (CRM) Trainer
  • Diplom Ingenieur Elektrotechnik

Expert activities

Due to his experiences and professional qualifications Steffen Leesch  became associated member in the BDSF (Federal registered association of German experts and technical consultants for expert services) as „Expert for Offshore Flight Operations, Helidecks and Hoist Areas“ in October 2014.

In May 2016 he was certified according to DIN EN ISO/IEC 17024 as „Expert for Offshore Flight Operations and Hoist Areas“. He is listed in the respective expert register and authorized to bear the above mentioned titles.

In addition, Mr. Steffen Leesch successfully participated in the OPITO Competence Assessor Course in August 2016 to acquire the necessary knowledge and skills to carry out evaluations.

Steffen Leesch war viele Jahre Kommandant auf dem Seenotrettungshubschrauber „Sea King“ der Marine, so dass ihm der nationale Flugbetrieb umfassend vertraut ist. Während verschiedener Aufenthalte im Ausland sammelte er darüber hinaus Erfahrungen im internationalen Offshore Hubschrauberflugbetrieb.

Schon frühzeitig hat er, auch vor dem Hintergrund seines Studiums zum Ingenieur, ein besonderes Interesse für den Hubschraubereinsatz in Offshore Windparks entwickelt und sich auf diesem Gebiet spezialisiert. Das für die Beratung erforderliche technische Verständnis fußt unter anderem auf dem Studium der Elektrotechnik an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität der Bundeswehr Hamburg.

Steffen Leesch fliegt für verschiedene Offshore Windenergie Projekte. Dies ermöglicht ihm aktive Mitgestaltung fliegerischer und organisatorischer Abläufe.

Qualifikationen

  • Verkehrshubschrauberführer ATPL(H)
  • Instrumentenflugberechtigung IR(H)
  • Qualitätsmanagementbeauftragter (QMB)
  • Crew Ressource Management (CRM) Trainer
  • Diplom Ingenieur Elektrotechnik

Sachverständigentätigkeit

Aufgrund seiner Erfahrung und beruflichen Qualifikation wurde Herr Steffen Leesch im Oktober 2014 als „BDSF geprüfter Sachverständiger für Offshore Flugbetrieb, Hubschrauberlandedecks und Windenbetriebsflächen“ und assoziiertes Mitglied im BDSF (Bundesverband Deutscher Sachverständiger und Fachgutachter e. V.) aufgenommen.

Im Mai 2016 erfolgte die Zertifizierung nach DIN EN ISO/IEC 17024 als „Sachverständiger für Offshore Flugbetrieb, Hubschrauberlandedecks und Windenbetriebsflächen“. Er wird in den jeweiligen Sachverständigenverzeichnissen geführt und ist berechtigt, die o.a. Bezeichnungen zu führen.

Zudem hat Herr Steffen Leesch im August 2016 erfolgreich an dem OPITO Competence Assessor Kurs teilgenommen, um die notwendigen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten zur Durchführung von Bewertungen zu erwerben.